SEMINIMALISTA

LIVING IN MODERATION

A Little Retro on a Rainy Day – Tyler Street Cafe, Preston

Autumn has finally arrived with its signature coolish rainy day and grey sky. The leaves have not yet changed colours but soon enough we will see the red, gold, brown, and falling leaves everywhere. I love summer but I also embrace season changes excitedly every year.

After running some errands this morning, I decided to take it easy today and find a place to sit down for lunch and read for a while. There are two cafes near my house that I go to sometimes but I decided to find a new place to try. While standing in a very long queue at the post office, I googled and found this place called ‘Tyler Street Cafe’.

image

As the name suggests, it’s located on Tyler street, just off Plenty road in Preston. It is in an odd spot surrounded by old commercial shops. Without the chairs out the front, you might miss it. Free parking is available just a little further up in the residential area.

As soon as I walked in, I noticed the retro style. The tables, the little retro kitchenware on display, and the old jazzy music playing in the dining room. The menu is small but interesting, especially the Paris Hilton and Nicole Ritchie…

Paris Hilton or Nicole Ritchie??

Paris Hilton or Nicole Ritchie??

I asked the guy, who I assume is the owner, what’s the difference between Paris and Nicole beans? He explained to me that Paris is RICH, THICK, and comes with sausages, while Nicole Ritchie is certainly lighter and vegetarian….HA. I chose Nicole and added eggs and mushrooms to make her heavier.

My very late breakfast with Nicole Ritchie

My very late breakfast with Nicole Ritchie

It was nice and fresh. The beans weren’t too sweet and tasted good with a little bit of parmesan. It was a perfect brunch for the rainy day. I enjoyed eating quietly while reading the paper and watching the rain come down. I also felt like I was transported back to the 1950s and landed in someone’s dining room. Today’s paper and the modern car parked out the front were the only two things that reminded me that I was still in 2013, oh, and of course, my iPhone!

All things retro

All things retro

image

While I was eating, the guy emerged from the back of the shop with a freshly baked delicious-looking savoury pie. I really wanted to try it but I was full. There were also some donuts with lemon curd fillings on the counter that I contemplated ordering too, but I could not possibly fit any more food in my tummy. I’ll try them next time!

On the way out, I couldn’t help looking around and noticing several tinted bottles on the shelf, which I figured were tea leaves from what was written on them…

‘C.mile…chamomile, Pep…Peppermint, Y Bother…huh???’.

I asked the guy what kind of tea ‘Y Bother’ would be.

He said “Oh, that’s DECAF”

HAHAHAHAHA

Tyler St Cafe on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2013 by in Around and About and tagged , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

